Manic Monday

Today has been a long one. It was one of those Mondays you just want to redo. Nothing terrible happened but it wasn’t a typical good day! I’m about to go to sleep and am sure that tomorrow will be great…at my store we are putting up our Christmas trees! We put up 12-16 a year from 8 feet to 12 feet tall, all with different themes. I will definitely post pictures as we put them up!

  • Breakfast: 1 packet instant baked apple oatmeal with banana and a sprinkle of Sticky Pecan Bun Granola

Baked Apple Sticky Bun Oats

It was not really busy at the store and we were just putting up tree bodies and fluffing them in preparation for the decoration. While working I had my first tastes of Kombucha, something I’ve heard about for a long time and wanted to try. I got the Synergy Divine Grape flavor and quite enjoyed it. I didn’t realize until after I started drinking it that it “could contain trace amounts of alcohol (less than 0.5%)”. It makes sense because it is fermented tea but yikes! I was getting a “trace amount of headache” so I put it away until later. I decided to put my in-store treats and eats in front of some displays you guys could feast your eyes on. This is pictured in front of our Waxing Poetic line which is our best selling jewelry line. Primarily we sell chains and initial charms in several different styles. It’s so neat that you can customize it any way you like.

IMG_4665

I didn’t have anything to pack for lunch this morning so I went with my coworker to a place called Village Cafe in Downtown Bryan. It has a really neat atmosphere and the food is mainly local and organic. I was cravin some Mediterranean flava.

  • Lunch: 1/2 Tzatziki Wrap and side Greek salad

IMG_4666

I love the combination of Kalamata olives and feta cheese so much. I have a thing for salty foods more than sweets most of the time. After work, I came home and did a little cleaning in the kitchen. Patrick was working until after 7 tonight and then he went to Hobby Lobby to frame one of the pictures our friend commissioned from him. Check it out…

IMG_4675

You can see a better version plus the intricate process he used to create this photo at Patrick’s blog which he is asking me not to give out tonight as it were. Check back in 3 days he says! He is so talented if I do say so myself. It is actually a grid of 32 images assembled together in Photoshop.

When he got home, we drove out to Research Park on the Texas A&M campus to do our Week 6 Day 3 run of the Couch to 5k. It was 25 minutes without a walking interval, our longest run yet. It was a brisk evening which I thought was perfect for our run. It was difficult for me at times but I pressed on and finished without stopping to walk. I listened to Andrew Bird’s Noble Beast while I ran. It is a great album. If you like Rufus Wainwright, you will like Andrew Bird. After our run we went to the grocery store to get our food for the next two weeks.

  • Dinner: Black Bean Chicken Burrito

IMG_4673

I had some chips and salsa on the side. I love cilantro salsa. All salsa really. Be prepared to see it often! We watched an old episode of 30 Rock that had Steve Martin as the guest star. I love his work, especially the Father of the Bride movies. So cute! I like to watch the first one around Christmas….does it sound like I’m getting into the Christmas spirit? You would think after working retail for 6 years I would be Grinch-tastic but I still love it. It has its moments but it’s worth it.

What movies do you like to watch at Christmas?

One thought on “Manic Monday

  1. Hey there!

    I just tried my first Kombucha the other day also after hearing so many great things about it! I wasn’t too fond of it…I heard you either love it or hate it! It does seem to do a lot of great things for you body though..

    I just started a nutrition/wellness blog…check it out!

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

    Health & Happiness,
    Jocelyn

Leave a Reply

